Search and verify licenses
Sample Virginia Security License

Virginia Security License

A security license authorizes you to work as a security officer. To qualify for it, you must meet the necessary standards.

Keep reading to learn more about the steps you need to take.

Basic requirements

There are general terms essential for the licensing. To be eligible, you must:

  • Be at least 18 years old.
  • Meet all the primary demands for each registration type and firearm approval (if relevant).
  • Be a citizen of the United States. If a foreigner, be a lawful permanent resident of the US.

There are slight variations in the demands for each sort of authorization. So keep in mind that you might be asked to provide additional documents and forms.

These specifications depend on the type of authorization you want to get. For example, it could be Bail Bondsmen, Private Bodyguards, etc.

Training

Unarmed

Besides the overall requirements, you should have appropriate training. The institutes offering relevant classes should be qualified to teach.
You have to take 18 hours of entry-level lessons – 01E – Security Officer Course Subjects. The curriculum includes elements such as;

  • Introduction to the relevant laws and regulations
  • Communications, access regulation, patrol
  • Handling confrontations
  • Documentation
  • Use of force
  • In-depth written exam

When it comes to working without your permission (only unarmed), you can do that for 90 consecutive days. During this time, finalize the primary training requirements. The same situation can also be seen in Wisconsin.

To do this, you will need to have submitted your fingerprints. Do it on or before the date of your job. You also should get a 90-day authorization sheet from your employer. While on duty, carry your ID and the paperwork until getting your permission.

Armed

In the case of armed cop preparation, in addition to the lessons described above, you ought to have 05E – Armed Officer Arrest Authority. It’s an 8-hour program touching upon areas like;

  • Arrest Powers
  • Policies
  • Procedures

Those who will be using weapons ought to also fulfill the preconditions of the Firearms Endorsement. This is going to be $10. You have to resubmit it every year. You must also redo the program within 90 days before the day your gun approval expires.

It’s important to note that those convicted before must also submit a criminal history report.

Completing the application

You should create an account in the Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) to register. Then fill out an online form. The fee is $25 (non-refundable).

Remember that there is also a processing fee visible on your invoice. Also, register for a fingerprint appointment which costs an additional $50.

Renewal

To continue legally practicing as a bodyguard, you have to prolong your permit before its expiration date. The renewal includes in-service training and filling out the appropriate application online. It will cost $34, plus $10 if you own a weapon.

Transferability of the permit

The permit provided by Virginia is transferable to five states – Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Tennessee. But it has some restrictions. You can find out more about the details in the agreement documents.

For more…

All the compulsory reports, essential links, and paperwork are on the DCJS website. There is also a step-by-step guideline for each individual case.

Anna A

Anna is an enthusiastic writer just starting out in the industry. She is studying English and Communications at AUA, where she learns about various genres and styles of writing. Writing is Anna’s passion as it enables her to express herself creatively. She loves how content writing allows her to make the information simple and available for a wide range of people. While trying to make information accessible for everyone, she enjoys the process of exploring the topics she writes about. She hopes to sharpen her writing skills and become very successful in the industry.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State